Fall Paper Petals

Well hello again world! I’m back to crafting and couldn’t be more excited about it. Work is still crazy busy but I’m promising myself to make more time for crafting and sharing some of it with the world.  So without any further ado, let me start by saying how excited I am to be taking part in my first Silhouette Challenge!  I signed up for the Silhouette Challenge group to get myself thinking of some different ways to use the silhouette, and of course to be inspired.  If you’re in need of inspiration, check out the links at the bottom of this post for more fantastic silhouette projects!

October's Silhouette Challenge - Theme: Fall

October’s Silhouette Challenge – Theme: Fall

This month the theme is Fall and I’ll be honest I had a hard time choosing just one project to highlight. Since the purchase of my silhouette I have been a busy bee, cutting, folding, molding, ironing and more. It’s truly amazing what this little baby can do and if you’re not familiar with the hardware definitely take a moment to check it all out.

I decided my favorite Fall project so far has been my floral arrangement made from hand crafted paper flowers! Now, not only was this my first attempt at flower making with paper, it was also one of my first big silhouette projects that required taking non .svg files and converting them into something the silhouette design studio could work with. I was a nervous wreck sending my first file to the machine but thanks to the fabulous Silhouette School I was able to figure out the basics of tracing and tweaking images for printing.

In my arrangement you’ll see three kinds of flowers. My favorite, the Gerbera daisies are from a Lia Griffith template. If you’re not familiar with her site and have any interest in flower making at all, please do go and check her out. She’s amazingly talented and her tutorials made this process so simple. The next set of flowers are 3D Mums found in the Silhouette store. While they look nothing like any mum I’ve ever encountered, they are stunning and a perfect addition to my bouquet. The final flowers are 3D Queen Anne’s Lace, and they can also be found in the Silhouette store.

Paper FlowersSo how did I do it? Well I started by cutting all my shapes. Because I had a semi dull blade in my silhouette (I’ve got to get every last cut for my money) I went on the slowest cutting speed which meant while the machine was working, so was I. In-between weeding I started molding my petals using some of my paper tole tools.  The tools are definitely not accessory, you can do all the molding by hand, but I liked that I could get super precise with shaping and smoothing.  If you’re interested in getting your own set, check out Paper Tole Supply, they have everything.  Once I had everything cut and molded to the right shapes I took it one step further and busted out my soft chalk set and started painting on some color to give each petal some extra depth.  The slight change in color from one petal to the next was hard to capture on camera but it makes a big impact in person.

Paper FlowersAfter chalking, I fired up the glue gun and started putting it all together.  For the Queen Anne’s Lace I added some embellishments to the center for some extra pizazz.  Finally I used some floral tape to get them on wired stems and had a blast arranging them in my awesome dollar store vase!  I added in some fall berries I picked up at Michaels to fill in some gaps, but other than that – the entire arrangement is paper!  The entire project took a little under four hours and was perfect for completing while watching back to back Nicholas Sparks movies!

Arrangement on my ShelfHere is the finished arrangement in it’s final resting place.  I couldn’t be more thrilled with the way my project came out!  It looks fantastic and I learned a lot about my machine along the way.  If you’re planning on doing a project like this, keep in mind that flowers are organic and therefore they are imperfect and that is perfectly fine!  That means if your machine accidentally lobs off one of the Queen Anne’s Lace petals, its no big deal! In fact, I don’t think any of my Queen Anne’s Lace petals are whole, but that makes it more realistic!

Want to Check Out More Silhouette Projects?

My Silhouette Challenge buddies and I are all sharing projects on our blogs today, so peruse the projects below for a wealth of Silhouette inspiration!

Paper Rosette Fall Wreath Hello Fall Sign Halloween Paper Bag Luminaries Spooky Mantle Ghost Town Dollar Store Placemat Jack O' Lantern Copper and Paper Embellished Pumpkins Ugly Sweater Wineglass Charms DIY Fall Leave Paper Wreath Starry Pumpkin Burlap & BOO Halloween Wreath Fall Paper Petals Fall Leaves Favor Tags 15 Minute Customized Halloween Buckets Gravestone Treat Bags with Free Cut File Beware of Zombies Halloween Shadow Box Welcome Sign Vampire Bat Specimen Boo-tiful Halloween Treats Little Turkey No Sew Thanksgiving Onesie Frozen Halloween Treats & Free Printable Fall Leaf Keychain Fall Lovin October Silhouette Challenge Punny #Hashtag Halloween Costume Still Falling For You Card DIY Etched Leaf Coasters

1. Create & Babble // 2. Lil Mrs. Tori // 3. unOriginal Mom // 4. Zanaree // 5. The Kim Six Fix // 6. One Dog Woof // 7. Cupcakes & Crowbars // 8. Living My Given Life // 9. Architecture of a Mom // 10. Put A Bird On It // 11. Just Add Paper // 12. Weekend Craft // 13. Silhouette School // 14. Minted Strawberry // 15. My Paper Craze // 16. McCall Manor // 17. Chicken Scratch NY // 18. Mama Sonshine // 19. Creative Ramblings // 20. From Wine to Whine // 21. Please Excuse My Craftermath… // 22. Dragonfly & Lily Pads // 23. The Thinking Closet // 24. Simply Kelly Designs // 25. Sandpaper & Glue //

14 thoughts on “Fall Paper Petals

  1. Pingback: Silhouette Challenge October: Wine Charms - Cupcakes&Crowbars

Leave a Reply

